I understand
arrow drop search cross

Our story > About us >


The Hepworth Wakefield is extremely grateful for the generous investment and foresight of Wakefield Council and the many public sector bodies, charitable trusts and foundations, businesses and individuals who contributed towards the creation of the gallery.

Founding supporters

Founding partners

Wakefield Council
The Hepworth Estate

Major Funders

Arts Council England
Heritage Lottery Fund


European Regional Development Fund
Homes and Communities Agency
Yorkshire Forward

Major donors

Audrey & Stanley Burton Charitable Trust
Friends of Wakefield Art Galleries & Museums (WPAF)
Garfield Weston Foundation
The Headley Trust
The Wolfson Foundation


Esmée Fairbairn Foundation
Sir George Martin Trust
The Henry Moore Foundation
The Kirby Laing Foundation
Lord St Oswald
The Scurrah Wainwright Charity
Sir Siegmund Warburg’s Voluntary Settlement


Sir Richard Dalton
Stephen Gouldin
The Kenneth Hargreaves Trust
John Lewis Partnership
Simon and Midge Palley
The Rt Revd Stephen Platten
Kate Taylor

and those who wish to remain anonymous

Current supporters


Wakefield Council
Arts Council England

Major donors

The Audrey & Stanley Burton 1960 Charitable Trust
Burberry Foundation
Clore Duffield Foundation
Eric and Jean Cass
Esmée Fairbarn Foundation
The Liz and Terry Bramall Foundation
Paul Hamlyn Foundation
Sir Siegmund Warburg’s Voluntary Settlement


The Art Fund
Contemporary Art Society
Creative Minds South West Yorkshire NHS Partnership
The D’Oyly Carte Charitable Trust
The Ernest Cook Trust
Friends of Wakefield Art Galleries & Museums
Gabo Trust
The Holbeck Charitable Trust
Jordans Solicitors
Ofenheim, Charitable Trust
R E Chadwick Charitable Trust
The Rowland St Oswald 1984 Charitable Trust
Sir George Martin Charitable Trust
Community Foundation Wakefield District #iwill Fund

Exhibition supporters

The Henry Moore Foundation
Carol Atack and Alex van Someren
Sprüth Magers

Corporate partners

Grand Central Rail
Oulton Hall
Wakefield first Bondholders Scheme



Dr Carol Atack
Lady Madeline Bessborough
Dr Sophie Bowness
Linda Dodd
Norman Eastwood
Wayne Ewart
Colin Fine
Stuart and Trish Fletcher
Jane and Alan Foale
Alexander and Hilary Hume
Philippa Jacomb
Fiona MDC Kearns
Sigrid Kirk
Christopher Kneale
Virginia and Clive Lloyd
Debbie Melton
John Oldham and Terry Bacon
Jon and Helen Riddle
Ringo and Tanja Scheithauer
Claudia Schūrch
Emily Thomas
Peter Woods and Francis Ryan

and those who wish to remain anonymous