I understand
arrow drop search cross
A visitor views work by Cerith Wyn Evans in The Hepworth Prize for Sculpture 2018. Photo, David Lindsay
What's on >

The Hepworth Prize for Sculpture

26 Oct 2018 - 20 Jan 2019

Free entry

★★★★ – The Guardian 

★★★★ – The Telegraph

The Hepworth Prize for Sculpture recognises a British or UK-based artist of any age, at any stage of their career, who has made a significant contribution to the development of contemporary sculpture. It is named after Barbara Hepworth, a sculptural pioneer in her own time, who benefited from prizes throughout her life.

The second Hepworth Prize for Sculpture was awarded to Cerith Wyn Evans at an award dinner at The Hepworth Wakefield on Thursday 15 November.

The other shortlisted artists this year are Michael Dean, Mona Hatoum, Phillip Lai and Magali Reus. Presenting new and recent work, each of the artists demonstrates a singular voice that pushes the potential of the sculptural object in new directions.

This selection – and winner – was made by a panel including Sarah Brown, Principal Keeper, Leeds Art Gallery; Martin Clark, Director, Camden Arts Centre; Margot Heller OBE, Director, South London Gallery; and Helen Legg, Director, Tate Liverpool.

Visit our YouTube channel to view the shortlisted artists talking about their work in a series of newly commissioned films.

Join us every day at 2.30pm for a free 30-minute tour of The Hepworth Prize for Sculpture. Please register at the welcome desk on the day.

Have your say

The People's Choice

We’ll be announcing the People’s Choice winner in January 2019. To be the first to find out the winner, please sign up to our mailing list.

Shortlisted artists


The Hepworth Prize for Sculpture is supported by:
David Liddiment and Stuart & Trish Fletcher.
Hiscox, The Henry Moore Foundation and Mtec:



Media Partner: 

News and reviews