I understand
arrow drop search cross

Shortlist announced for second The Hepworth Prize for Sculpture

22 Mar 2018

On Thursday 22 March, The Hepworth Wakefield announced the five artists nominated for the second The Hepworth Prize for Sculpture.

The £30,000 biennial award recognises a British or UK-based artist of any age, at any stage in their career, who has made a significant contribution to the development of contemporary sculpture.

The artists nominated are:

Michael Dean
Mona Hatoum
Phillip Lai
Magali Reus
Cerith Wyn Evans

The shortlist was selected by a panel of nominators comprising Martin Clark (Director, Camden Arts Centre), Sarah Brown (Principal Keeper, Leeds Art Gallery), Margot Heller (Director, South London Gallery) and Helen Legg (Director, Spike Island and recently announced as Director of Tate Liverpool) together with Andrew Bonacina, Chief Curator at The Hepworth Wakefield and chaired by the gallery’s Director, Simon Wallis.

The finalists will present their work in an exhibition at The Hepworth Wakefield that will run from the 26 October 2018 until 20 January 2019. The winner of the second Hepworth Prize for Sculpture will be announced at an awards dinner in November 2018.

The Prize is kindly supported by:
David Liddiment and Stuart & Trish Fletcher.

The exhibition is supported by Hiscox, The Henry Moore Foundation and Mtec:


“We successfully established The Hepworth Prize for Sculpture to encourage debate about what sculpture is by exploring the art form in its broadest definition. I’m delighted that this shortlist continues the strengths of the inaugural Prize by working with artists at different yet pivotal stages in their careers. The artists selected this year will again present a broad spectrum of experiences and concerns in their work. It will be a highly engaging and memorable exhibition by some of the key sculptors now working in the UK.”

Simon Wallis, Director of The Hepworth Wakefield


Related News