I understand
arrow drop search cross
Supriya Nagarajan at The Hepworth Wakefield. Photograph: Acoustic Nations
Art & artists >

Supriya Nagarajan: Mapping the Music

Sat 19 Feb 2022, 2pm

Mapping the Music

Mapping the Music is a sonic exploration of the sculptural work of Barbara Hepworth by composer and director Supriya Nagarajan. The piece will feature vocals from Nagarajan along with sound and music from sound artist Duncan Chapman, percussionist Delia Stevens and harpists Lucy Nolan and Becki Luff of The Chroma Harp Duo.

In this newly commissioned audio work, a selection of Hepworth’s sculptures are carefully three-dimensionally mapped and translated into musical compositions that follow the rise and fall of their ridges and curves. The resulting sonic journey will emulate the gentle nuanced forms of the sculptures, while being informed by her life and artistic journey.

This will be a multi-lingual, multi-cultural musical event that looks at Hepworth’s work through a diverse lens.


About the artist

Supriya Nagarajan is a UK based vocalist and composer who creates cross-cultural, cross-genre, concept driven and immersive music work. She has toured the globe and created work for festivals including Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival and Ultima Oslo and has collaborated with Iceland Symphony Orchestra. She has previously performed at Yorkshire Sculpture Park, York Minster, Huddersfield University, National Railway Museum, Tatton Park, Kew Gardens and The Hepworth Wakefield.

Nagarajan is a Performing Rights Society/Jerwood composer and an alumni of New Voices 2018 Sound and Music. She is the Artistic Director of Manasamitra, a UK based arts charity and passionate advocate for fair access in the music sector. Her forthcoming releases are on the Come Play With Me and Takuroku labels.

This event forms part of a series of performances and audio-visual works made in response to Hepworth’s work presented alongside our 10th anniversary exhibition Barbara Hepworth: Art & Life.

The programme of events takes place throughout the exhibition and features new and re-staged works by artists, musicians and dancers, many of whom we have worked with over the past ten years. Please see our What’s On listings for details of all events.  

Our anniversary events are free but tickets to the Barbara Hepworth: Art & Life exhibition are required. Exhibition tickets are priced at £12 / £10 Concessions / FREE for Members, Wakefield District residents and under 16s. Book your ticket online.